My biography

Hi!  Thanks for visiting my blog.  I have to say that I really don’t like to talk about myself.  If I were to meet you in person, I would much rather talk about YOU, and want to learn more about your interests and passions.  Since this is my blog, however, I guess I do have to talk about myself:)

As a person who didn’t discover art, except for quilt-making, until I was 40, one might wonder what I did before that time.  I was born in Brainerd, Minnesota in 1969 and lived there until my parents moved to Tulsa, Oklahoma in 1982.  Although we only lived in the South for five years before returning to Minnesota, I fell in love with southern living, and hope someday to return.

I graduated from Brainerd High School in 1988 and went on to study biology in college.  I graduated from Bemidji State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology in 1993.  It was there that I met my husband, Tom Rietveld, in a college physics class.  We met in 1990, but didn’t date until the end of 1992.  Eight short months later, we married, just weeks before Tom started Veterinary School at the University of Minnesota.

Although I worked while Tom was in vet school, it was always our plan to start a family during his senior year, and for me to stay home and raise our children.  Our daughter, Delaney, was born a few months before Tom graduated in 1997.  We moved to western Wisconsin that summer and Baby Paul was born in September of 1998.

We had the wonderful opportunity to move back to Bemidji, Minnesota in 2001, and all circumstances fell in place for us to do so.  Nine months later, Baby Amy was born, just twelve days after the death of my dad.  Talk about a punctuation mark of SUNSHINE after a very dark storm.  That’s what Amy was to me and continues to be in the lives of everyone who meets her!

In 2007, I helped Tom start a one-room veterinary practice in the living room of our previous home.  We worked tirelessly to establish a quality business, and were able to move out of that home a year later because the business was growing so fast.  At the end of 2012, we hired our third employee and agreed that it was the right time for me to stop working at the clinic so much and have the opportunity to pursue my own interests.  I had already discovered my love of art, but needed time to just breathe, relax, reconnect with friends, and make new ones (preferably ones who loved art!)

I had my first public art exhibit in April 2013 at our local library.  Although I’ve not exhibited since then, that is a primary goal for the remainder of this year.  This past spring I also became licensed through the state of Minnesota to substitute teach in our local school district.  I love teaching at the middle school level and have had several opportunities to teach middle school science.  Through this experience, my eyes have been opened to the many troubled kids in our area……

Please visit again to find out how this impacted me and what I plan to do about it!

Thanks for your time.  Have a great week,

Melanie

Leave a Reply

