It doesn’t have to be a masterpiece…

It doesn’t have to be a masterpiece to be time well spent!  One colossal hurdle that many a beginning artist must overcome is the idea that every time he or she goes to the studio, there better be something astonishing to show for it.  This was my mindset for a period of time, and nothing could be more paralyzing, especially for a recovering perfectionist.

It’s understandable that no one wants to waste time, especially when carving out “art time” means postponing other responsibilities that will be waiting right where we left them when “art time” is over!

One parallel that has helped me is relating art to music.  Both of my daughters play piano.  I love listening to them practice.  My 17-year-old is understandably more accomplished than my 12-year-old.  It’s a daily reminder that practice is absolutely essential to progress, and the mistakes do indeed propel us forward.  Perhaps it’s a bit easier for musicians, however, since they don’t have to look at  their mistakes at the end of a practice session!

It’s also helpful to remember that art is supposed to be fun.  I’m currently taking an online class from Sarah Ahearn Bellemare.  As she shared with the class last week, “if you’re not having fun, put the paintbrush down and go do something else for a while.”  Great advice.

Below is a piece I made last week when friend came over to do art with me.  She had done other kinds of art, but not mixed-media.  Therefore, I wanted to focus on helping her enjoy the process, and worked on my own project without any grand expectations.  Here are my results.

IMG_0080

“Dream” – mixed media on canvas, 6×12

And another piece of “word art” from 2012

IMG_0091

“Miracle” – Neocolor II and permanent pen on paper. 13×13 framed

Thanks again for visiting, and have a great day!

Melanie

Leave a Reply

