“Sunburst” – working with mistakes

Measure twice, cut once!  Elementary, isn’t it?  And yet I failed to do so when creating this piece.  This piece was my first attempt at creating a colorful version of a photo I had seen that used laminate pieces on a plain white background.  I didn’t print the original photo, as I wanted to use my own measurements and design sense.

IMG_0446

Working out design with colors and values on 24x24in scrap plywood

IMG_0447

Super heavy gesso was used to create texture on a cradled birch panel. I used different texture tools, as these stencils didn’t give the effect I was looking for.

IMG_0461

Detail of texture and base layer of yellow.

When I started to collage my design onto the prepared background, I realized that some of my strips weren’t the right width, and I was going to have gaps where the strips weren’t wide enough.  At that point I decided to work with this mistake rather than recut strips.  My motivation was to embrace the opportunities that come with mistakes, and hopefully create something even better than my original idea.  (Hmm…the parallels between art and life are striking sometimes!)

The gold center and thin strips were my answer to this dilemma, and I think served to make the piece much better.

IMG_0474

detail photo

IMG_0472

“Sunburst” – mixed media collage on 24x24in cradled birch panel.

After warming up the yellow background with naples yellow and adding a little distress ink, the piece is finished.

Thanks again for visiting my blog.  Have a great day!

Melanie

2 thoughts on ““Sunburst” – working with mistakes

Leave a Reply

