Many Waters Cannot Quench Love – Saying Goodbye to my Mom

There’s a part of me that finds this difficult to write and share.  My mother passed away on Christmas Eve.  There are few words right now for all the memories and emotions.  But in the meantime, there is art.  When my mom, Sara, got sick two years ago, I flew to Texas to be with her.  In a quiet moment, I sketched her sleeping.

IMG_0520

Mom sleeping

I still remember the little yellow flowers on her hospital gown.

IMG_0522

One yellow flower in watercolor pencil

Looking back, it’s a gift to have these sketches.  They’ll always remind me of her.

Living 1100 miles apart, we got to spend very little time together.  In recent years, her health issues made it difficult to communicate.  This picture was taken in 2004.  It’s one of my favorites of us together.

IMG_0526

Mom, me and my daughter, Amy Kate – 2004

Although we were parted in life and are now parted by death, I have the hope of seeing her again in heaven….and many waters cannot quench love.  She will always be my mom, and I will always be her Mellie.

Thank you for reading my blog and letting me honor my precious mother.

Have a wonderful New Year,

Melanie

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Many Waters Cannot Quench Love – Saying Goodbye to my Mom

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. I lost my Mom 6 days before Christmas fifteen years ago and my father a year later on New Year’s Day. The holidays remain bittersweet as a result but they both had been ill for some time so it wasn’t unexpected. I didn’t have art to help me heal; I used work instead. I hope the new year brings healing for you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

