Meet my studio assistant, Barty Crouch

For the past few years, my husband has said that if we ever got another cat, he wanted to name it Barty Crouch.  We weren’t looking to add another pet to our household menagerie of two cats and a big black lab, but fate had a different plan.

As you may have suspected, our family has loved the Harry Potter books and movies.  I haven’t enjoyed them as much as my husband and children, but sometimes one just has to be a good sport, right?  And, we’ve always had a soft spot for orange tabby cats, as we had one for 18 years. Nate, our beloved old guy, passed away in 2011 at the age of 19.

So, this past summer a 4-week-old kitten was brought to our veterinary clinic while we were on vacation.  His left eye seemed to be non-functioning and sinking back into the socket.  Since he was from a humane society many miles away and was so tiny, the relief veterinarian told the workers they would need to bring him back when he was a bit older.  My husband would then remove his eye so he could be put up for adoption.

That’s what happened…almost!  Since we only live a block away from our clinic, it was great fun for my kids and me to go over and see the kitten while he was recovering.  We all loved him, but were apprehensive about how my other cats would react if we were to bring him home.  The humane society allowed us to take him on a trial basis, but we knew by the second day that he wasn’t going back!

14737800105_06ec63133e_n

Barty when he first arrived at our house. He still had his stitches.

It has been so much fun to have a kitten again.  He loves to be with us, no matter what we’re doing.

WP_20141206_006

Barty helping me get ready in the morning.

His silly antics make us laugh everyday, and remind us to enjoy the little things in life.  He does come in my studio to “help” me, but the closest he’s gotten is stepping in a plate of gesso!  Uggh!  I had to immediately rush him to the sink to rinse it all off….no time for a picture.

He especially loves to play with his toy mice.

WP_20141206_004

We frequently find catnip mice in our shoes, and have decided that must be one of Barty’s favorite games.

Sometimes, he needs to take a break, though.

WP_20141211_001

If you fit under the sofa, it’s a great place for a nap.

Thanks for visiting my blog and letting me introduce my studio assistant, Barty Crouch.  He hasn’t yet offered to wash my brushes or fetch my tea, but I’ll let you know if that happens!

Have a great day,

Melanie

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Meet my studio assistant, Barty Crouch

  1. I am smiling so much as I read this post. We have three cats – our youngest one also has one eye. Apparently as a kitten, he was hit by a car and the rescue cats organization’s clinic took care of him until he was about 9 months old. We saw him and knew right away he was for us.

    A more bright, loving spirit could not be found. What an addition he has been to our family.

    We named him Martok (for the one-eyed Klingon general on Star Trek Deep Space Nine). We figured he was a fighter to have survived and come out so well.

    I think Barty is just great. Many years of happiness with him, I hope for you!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

