Fifty Phrases Series – #1 “Relax”

This piece was part of my preparation to send my first daughter to college, which happened yesterday.  It was also inspired by our current journey through the teen years with my younger two children, now almost 14 and 17.

Relax12x12

“Relax” – 12x12x1.5 in. Mixed media on cradled birch panel

RelaxCloseup

detail photo

This piece was fun to create.  I started with a base layer of collage papers and created a peeled paint effect with Vaseline and layers of contrasting color.  I finished by adding the stenciled word with drips and yellow stenciled designs to make the color story more cohesive.

I’d love to hear what word or phrase you say to yourself when family life gets stressful or challenging.

Thanks for visiting my blog and have a great day!

Melanie

4 thoughts on “Fifty Phrases Series – #1 “Relax”

Leave a Reply

