Meet “Ruthie”, who might be Russian…?

Since my last post when I declared my obsession with painting flowers, I had the overwhelming urge to do a study of my cat, Ruthie.

Painting realism isn’t my interest or strong point, but through all my art-related reading I’ve learned that even abstract artists have a working knowledge of drawing and painting in a realistic style.

Over the last few months my husband and I have made a concerted effort to declutter and get rid of unneeded items.  In the process you can imagine how many sentimental items we have unearthed!  Henceforth came the old photo of our beloved “Ruthie”.

RuthieOriginal

A little backstory on Ruthie.  My husband and I opened a clinic out of our old living room in 2007.  (Now that’s a story for another day!)  One of my husband’s loyal clients from a previous employer brought his pets in shortly after we opened. As he was leaving, he mentioned that there was a stray cat at his place of employment, which happened to be the Russian Language Village area of the Concordia Language Villages near Bemidji, Minnesota.  He told us that he wanted to trap the cat, have it spayed or neutered, and return it to its natural environment.  (We love people like that!)

Six weeks went by and the call came in!  He had trapped the cat, but it was so wild he had no idea how we would ever be able to do the surgery.  Since this happened at 6:30 am on a Friday morning, my husband told him he could drop the cat off and we would do surgery over the weekend.  He could pick it up on Monday.

Long-story-short….I fell in love with the cat, and she with me!  She warmed to us so quickly and was so sweet that we knew she must have had human contact at some point.

I asked my husband to call the client and let him know we’d be willing to foster the cat.  Fast-forward nine years…

MeAndRuthie

My beloved Ruthie!

Her art piece in progress..

RuthieProgress

In progress…based on the photo from above

After layers of stencils for the background and sponging to re-create a carpet effect in the foreground, Ruthie is finished!

Ruthie

“Ruthie” – 8×8 inches on canvas panel

I’m planning to frame this piece and have it on display in July when my work will be featured again at our local Dunn Brothers Coffee Shop.

Thanks for taking the time to read my blog.

Many blessings,

Melanie

5 thoughts on “Meet “Ruthie”, who might be Russian…?

  1. Ruthie looks like she has some sass, and you caught it so amazingly in your painting. Thank you for sharing your story about your beloved Ruthie and for sharing her picture. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

