‘Be Happy’ – A Saturday blessing

What does an artist do when he or she is feeling “stuck” on a piece of art?  I’m sure there are as many answers as there are artists.  One thing that seems to work for me is a tip I read a few years ago in Mati Rose McDonough’s lovely book, “Daring Adventures in Paint”.  The advice she received from a valued mentor when she was in an art-slump was to make art that came easily and felt natural for her.  I figured that it might help in my situation, too.

The next question I asked myself was just that…what kind of art do I find easy and fun to make?  The answer was simple.  I love making “word art”.  I love creating inspiring words or phrases with fun colors and no pressure to create the right composition or balance of values.

So, taking a little break from creating floral art, I revisited one of my favorite phrases.

BeHappyMay16

Be Happy – 6×18 inches, mixed media on canvas

happydetail1

detail – I’ve been waiting to use my “epic” record liner paper. This seemed like the right piece in which to use it.

happydetail2

detail – using a heart and crystal to create delineation between words (since my measuring skills were on vacation!)

What do you do when you’re stuck on a piece of art (or in an art-slump)?  I’d love to hear what works for you.

Thanks for visiting my blog.

Have a happy Saturday,

Melanie

 

Leave a Reply

